Selecciones Matemáticas

Special Issue "Peruvian Conference on Scientific Computing"

This special issue contains nine contributions of the "Peruvian Conference on Scientific Computing", which was held from October 3 to October 6, 2022, in the beautiful city of Cusco, Peru.

The objective of this conference was to bring together Peruvian and international researchers working in the area of scientific computing, in particular in the fields modeling, simulation and optimization with differential equations. A focus was on topics that are of particular interest for researchers in South America, such as subsurface flows, mathematical epidemiology, climate and environmental research and computational fluid dynamics. Within the conference, six keynote presentations were given by

- Roland Becker (Université de Pau et des Pays de l'Adour, France).
- Erik Burman (University College London, United Kingdom).
- Omar Ghattas (University of Texas at Austin, USA).
- Roxana López-Cruz (Universidad Nacional Mayor de San Marcos Lima, Peru).
- Insa Neuweiler (University of Hannover, Germany).
- Olga Vasilieva (Universidad del Valle, Colombia).

In addition, 39 contributed talks and 25 poster presentations were contributed by participants from 13 countries in Europe, North and South America and Saudi Arabia.

The conference was funded by the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) within the German-Peruvian collaborative project "Peruvian Competence Center for Scientific Computing" (PeC³, www.pec3.org). PeC³ is a network of universities and scientists from Peru and Germany with the goal to foster research and education in scientific computing, applied and computational mathematics. We also thank the Universidad Nacional de San Antonio Abad del Cusco and the Sociedad Peruana de Matemática Aplicada (SPMAC) for the local organization and ICIAM for the genereous travel support.

All contributions of this special issue were evaluated in an international peer-review process.

The Editorial Committee

Stefan Frei (University of Konstanz, Germany).

Thomas Wick (University of Hannover, Germany).

Thomas Richter (University of Magdeburg, Germany).

Malte Braack (University of Kiel, Germany).

Obidio Rubio Mercedes (Universidad Nacional de Trujillo, Perú).

Guido Alvarez Jauregui (Universidad Nacional de San Antonio Abad del Cusco, Perú).

Dandy Rueda Castillo (Universidad Nacional Agraria La Molina, Perú).